Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Champions for positive change  




We all have a role to play! 

The success of Durham Region's net-zero commitment cannot be achieved by regional and local government alone. Businesses, industry sectors, community organizations and individuals all have an important contribution to make in the changes necessary to address climate change while we also adapt and build prosperity.

The Durham Climate Roundtable is comprised of volunteer committee members from the Region of Durham, the eight local area municipalities and community and business organizations.

Region of Durham and Local Area Municipalities 

  • Regional Councilor John Henry (Co-Chair), Region of Durham 
  • Regional Councilor Sterling Lee, Town of Ajax  
  • Regional Councilor Walter Schummer, Township of Brock  
  • Regional Councilor Adrian Foster, Municipality of Clarington  
  • Regional Councilor Dan Carter, City of Oshawa  
  • Regional Councilor Maurice Brenner, City of Pickering  
  • Regional Councilor Wilma Wotten, Township of Scugog  
  • Regional Councilor Dave Barton, Township of Uxbridge  
  • Regional Councilor Chris Leahy, Town of Whitby  

Community and Business Organization Representatives

  • Nicole Swain, Durham Agricultural Advisor Committee
  • Jason King, Durham Alliance (Boards of Trade and Chambers of Commerce) 
  • Joe Major, Durham College 
  • Vivian Curl, Durham Community Foundation 
  • Lisa Bianca, Durham District School Board 
  • Indrani Butany-DeSouza, Elexicon Energy  
  • Doug Yates, General Motors 
  • Heather Brown, Ontario Power Generation 
  • Dr. Daniel Hoornweg (Report Author), Ontario Tech University 
  • Jennifer Alsop (Co-chair), Brilliant Energy Institute at Ontario Tech University 
  • Daniel Arbour, Oshawa Power 
  • Alanna Aqui, St. Mary’s Cement 
  • Luke Nguyen, Youth Representative